Doris Duke Performing Artist Awards recipients are announced

This year’s Doris Duke Performing Artist Awards for contemporary dance, theater and jazz will be awarded to 21 artists, who will receive a prize money worth 275.000 US dollars.

Winners and nominees were chosen by an anonymous jury, who awarded the following jazz musicians: Fred Hersch, Wayne Horvitz, Matana Roberts, Jen Shyu, Henry Threadgill, as well as three musicians we previously heard at Jazz Fest: Wadada Leo Smith, Jason Moran and Dave Douglas. Moran introduced his Fats Waller Dance Party project last November at 19th Jazz Fest, Wadada Leo Smith performed a duet with Ikue Mori in 2004, while Douglas held two concerts in 2008, with his ensemble Dave Douglas 3 and as a member of the Misha Mengelberg Quartet.

“I am honored by this award, and I will use it to continue working in service to the community of creative musicians. Through the Festival Of New Trumpet Music, through Greenleaf Music, through educational action, and through composition, performance, and production of my own music, this award will support continued efforts towards sustainable growth in musical culture”, said Douglas who will be performing at the 20th Jazz Fest Sarajevo 2016 as a member of the Masada quartet with Greg Cohen, Joey Baron and John Zorn, opening John Zorn’s Bagatelles Marathon Sarajevo.

Jazz Fest Sarajevo 2024

April 2, 2024

U petak četiri koncerta

November 10, 2023

Drugi dan – tri trija!

November 9, 2023