Glad Rag Doll, new Diana Krall album

Glad Rag Doll, the new album of Canadian pianist and vocalist Diana Krall will be released on September 25, announced Verve Music.

The album was recorded under the supervision of producer T Bone Burnett for the record label Verve with which Krall works since 2002, Diana called it a “song and dance record”.

The album explores new sound, new instruments and new musicians: Marc Ribot (electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 6 string bass and banjo), T Bone Burnett (guitars), Howard Coward (ukulele, mandola, tenor guitar, harmony vocals), Jay Bellerose (drums), Dennis Crouch (bass), Bryan Sutton (guitars), Colin Linden (guitars, dobro) and Keefus Green (keyboards, mellotron).

Krall presents herself in new light, puckish and humorous, with a renewed sense of tenderness and intimacy. The record is about 13 songs, mostly covers like Lonely Avenue, a 50’s classic, Gene Austin’s Let It Rain or Buddy and Julie Miller’s Wide River To Cross.

“We went to the studio and approached the songs as if they were written yesterday. I didn’t want to make a period piece or nostalgia record,” said Krall. This record nicely blurred the line between swing, rock, and songs about longing, solace and regret.

Listen one of the songs from new album: Diana Krall – There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth The Salt Of My Tears

Track List:

  1. We Just Couldn’t Say Goodbye (Woods)
  2. There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth the Salt of My Tears (Fisher)
  3. Just Like a Butterfly That’s Caught in the Rain (Dixon/Woods)
  4. You Know I Know Ev’rything’s Made for Love (Sherman/Tobias/Johnson)
  5. Glad Rag Doll (Ager/Dougherty/Yellen)
  6. I’m A Little Mixed Up (James/Johnson)
  7. Prairie Lullaby (Hill)
  8. Here Lies Love (Rainger/Robin)
  9. I Used to Love You But It’s All Over Now (von Tilzer/Brown)
  10. Let it Rain (Kendis/Dyson)
  11. Lonely Avenue (Pomus)
  12. Wide River to Cross (Miller/Miller)
  13. When the Curtain Comes Down (Hoefle/Lewis/Sherman)
Jazz Fest Sarajevo 2024

April 2, 2024

U petak četiri koncerta

November 10, 2023

Drugi dan – tri trija!

November 9, 2023