Craig Taborn Winner of The North Sea Jazz Festival Award

The North Sea Jazz Festival, biggest European festival of its kind, gives away every year the Paul Acket Award “to an artist deserving wider recognition for their extraordinary musicianship”.

This year’s award will be given to Craig Taborn, American pianist, composer and talented improviser, the Bosnian audience had the chance to listen to at the Jazz Fest Sarajevo in 2004, when he performed as a member of the Susie Ibarra Trio.

One jury member ponted out that Taborn is one of the most important pianists of his generation who gives major contribution to musical expression of every ensemble he performs with.

Previous Paul Acket Award winners were Arve Henriksen (2011), Christian Scott (2010), Stefano Bollani (2009), Adam Rogers (2008), Gianluca Petrella (2007), Conrad Herwig (2006) and Ben Allison (2005).

Taborn will receive the award on 7th July at his solo performance at the North Sea Jazz Festival. He will perform that same night as a member of the ensemble Prism as well – the new Dave Holland quartet with Kevin Eubanks and Eric Harland.

Taborn’s latest album Avenging Angel, released last year by ECM, represents an authentic approach to solo piano performance.

Jazz Fest Sarajevo 2024

April 2, 2024

U petak Ĩetiri koncerta

November 10, 2023

Drugi dan – tri trija!

November 9, 2023