Vijay Iyer Trio: Accelerando

ACT label released last week Accelerando, new Vijay Iyer Trio album. This CD is the follow-up to the last trio’s Grammy nominated Historicity – voted the No. 1 jazz album of 2009 around the world, including in the Downbeat critics’ poll and by The New York Times.

Pianist-composer Vijay Iyer’s career has moved on an ever accelerating arc over the past decade and a half, with the Indian-American artist earning a slew of international honors for his intrepid vision of 21st-century music. The latest chapter of this compelling story in contemporary jazz comes with the Vijay Iyer Trio’s Accelerando, an album driven by the visceral, universal, intoxicating experience of rhythm.

Bassist Stephan Crump and drummer Marcus Gilmore together with Iyer light up material that ranges from a brace of bold Iyer originals and pieces by great jazz composers (Duke Ellington, Herbie Nichols, Henry Threadgill) to surprising interpretations of vintage and recent pop and funk tunes (Michael Jackson, Heatwave, Flying Lotus). Absorbing and infectious, this is jazz about not only the mind but the body.

Track list:

  1. Bode (Vijay Iyer)
  2. Optimism (Vijay Iyer)
  3. The Star of a Story (Rodney Temperton)
  4. Human Nature [Trio Extended Version] (Steve Porcaro / John Bettis)
  5. Wildflower (Herbie Nichols)
  6. Mmmhmm (Steve Ellison (Flying Lotus) / Stephen Bruner (Thundercat)
  7. Little Pocket Size Demons (Henry Threadgill)
  8. Lude (Vijay Iyer)
  9. Accelerando (Vijay Iyer)
  10. Actions Speak (Vijay Iyer)
  11. The Village of the Virgins (Duke Ellington)

Jazz Fest Sarajevo 2024

April 2, 2024

U petak četiri koncerta

November 10, 2023

Drugi dan – tri trija!

November 9, 2023