Gonzalo Rubalcaba’s XXI Century

Cuban pianist Gonzalo Rubalcaba pays tribute to two piano artists, Bill Evans and Lennie Tristant, with his new double album, XXI Century.

After almost 30 releases in 25 years of active career, Rubalcaba astonished critics and fans as a composer of an album deeply influenced by his Afro-Cuban heritage.

Rubalcaba gathered for this album an ensemble with following members: Marcus Gilmore (drums), Matt Brewer (bass), Pedro “Pedrito” Martinez (percussions), as well as guest musicians, Lionel Loueke (guitar) and his long term collaborator and fellow Cuban Ignacio Berrora (drums).

Compositions like Evans’ Time Remembered, soft swing classic Moor by Paul Bley, Rubalcaba’s originals like Nueva Cubana or Oshun, as well as the rest of the album expertly blend Cuban folkloric elements with classic jazz.

This pianist is one of the most important of his generation since mid 1990s. We watched him in Sarajevo on the stage of the 10th edition of the Jazz Fest Sarajevo in 2006 as a special guest of Brazilian guitarist Joao Bosco.

XXI Century is the second release of Rubalcaba’s record label 5Passion founded in 2010. Watch a short making of video of the new album.

Track list:

  1. Nueva Cubana
  2. Time Remembered
  3. Fifty
  4. Anthem
  5. Oshun
  6. Moor
  7. Son XXI
  8. Alafia
  9. Lennie’s Pennies
  10. Oshun (Short Version – Bonus Track)
U petak četiri koncerta

November 10, 2023

Drugi dan – tri trija!

November 9, 2023

Večeras počinjemo!

November 8, 2023